Now Reading...
The Coffee Bar

B is for Belle and Sebastian

Belle and Sebastian

Welcome to Day 2 of the A to Z Blog Challenge! Day 1 is HERE.

This year we chose the loose theme of entertainment and media, and (for me, at least) it started turning into a list of obscure or favorite shows, movies, et cetera, usually from the 1980s. Lynn and I are children of the 80s, so we’re big fans. Some of my posts are more like “where are they now” type things. Enjoy!

I don’t usually rely on Wikipedia as a source, but I did some research and found out that this was originally a novel by Cécile Aubry that was made into a live action TV show in several countries and later a cartoon. Nickelodeon picked it up in 1984 (I was 8 years old). I don’t know much about anime, but I mistakenly thought that it didn’t come along until much later.

What was it that drew me to this show? First, I loved the dog named Belle. She was so smart and protective of the little boy. [Ohmigosh, I just looked it up on YouTube, and one of the recent comments said exactly what I was thinking: “All I remember was thinking the bread they ate looked good, and wishing I could ride a dog.” LOVE it!!] They lived a simple, happy life in a small cabin in the Pyrenees.

The bond between the boy and his dog was so strong. They were separated for a few episodes and let me tell you, it was quite a tearjerker when they were reunited! I also loved the fact that they traveled throughout Europe looking for Sebastian’s mother. Even though it was only a cartoon, the scenery was beautiful to me. I think it’s what made me want to travel and see the whole world. Good or bad, TV does have the power to provide an escape from real life.

(Image Credit: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v30/kiyone/belleseb.jpg)

What was the most obscure (or just your favorite) cartoon or show that you watched as a kid?

Tell us in the comments!

About katietesta

I am a mom, a wife, and a freelance writer. I love to research and have a passion for social justice and nonprofit work.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “B is for Belle and Sebastian

  1. Hi Katietesta, Wow… I didn’t realise this was actually a real TV show. I’ve heard of a band with the same name but not the TV show, must hit YouTube to check it out. My favourite show as a kid was not a cartoon but it was Japanese. It was Monkey, based on the Journey to the West by Wu Cheng’en. I loved the cheeky Monkey who was always getting into mischief and trouble.

    Posted by bronbloxham | April 2, 2013, 00:27
  2. When I started reading I thought for sure it would about Belle from Beauty and the Beast and Sebastian from Little Mermaid. Yup…. I watch too many Disney DVD’s.
    Connie #133
    A to Z Challenge.
    Peanut Butter and Whine

    Posted by Peanut Butter and Whine | April 2, 2013, 22:58
    • Good guess, Connie! Sebastian is definitely one of my favorite Disney characters. Hmm, we probably could’ve done an all-Disney theme for the challenge!

      Posted by katietesta | April 3, 2013, 11:52

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: D is for Doogie Howser, M.D. | A Common Sea - April 4, 2013

Talk to us!

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Lucid Dreams and Saturn Skies

The Life and Writing of Andrew Kincaid

Rev. Evan M. Dolive

Follower of Christ, Father, Husband, Author, Blogger, All Around Nice Guy

MK is Stacked

The epitome of librarian boob puns.

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

A Common Sea

"I feel we are all islands floating in a common sea"--Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Pie Eyed

Living the Pie Life

fatherhood in babylon

real life adventures of a first time father

(My Life is) Full of Grace

Love & Mercy given by God, not because I deserve it, but because He wants me to have it.

lick the fridge

inane (and sometimes insane) musings of a twin dad

The Cake Eccentric's Blog

Cake Artist Serving New York's Capital Region 855.518.CAKE

WriterzBlox

Resources for Writers

What Matters Most

A Mother's Devotional

musingsofanoldfart

Independent views from someone who offers some historical context

Gastronomical Three

"First we eat, then we do everything else." --M.F.K. Fisher

