Now Reading...
The Coffee Bar

U is for Uh-Oh

Some days, lightening strikes my brain and my fingers dance a samba over the keyboard. Other days, my brain is locked in a white, padded room, struggling to get out, no one around to hear its cries. Today is the latter day.

I’ve been stuck for a topic beginning with “U”. I thought about umlauts (ü, ä, ë), but I didn’t have much to say about those. A twitter friend suggested ukeleles and umbrellas (and umlauts, incidentally), but I don’t have anything to say about those either. I thought about the phrase “Under God” from the “Pledge of Allegiance”, but again, I have nothing to say about that.

Uh-oh. I’m stuck without a “U” topic for todays challenge post. Wait… there it is… “Uh-oh!”

As in:

  • Uh-oh… my husband overslept by TWO hours this morning. Not going to be an easy day for him!
  • Uh-oh… I was just asked to do a last-minute article for the paper about my kids’ school. Yes, I can do it, and it won’t take too much time. But short deadlines are tough.
  • Uh-oh… There are scrambled eggs all over my dining room floor. Do you know how hard it is to sweep up scrambled egg?
  • Uh-oh… my daughter got a hold of my mobile and left her dad a very long message on his work voicemail. Well, maybe that will brighten the day for him!
  • Uh-oh… I forgot to return that screen that doesn’t fit the door and I think it might be too late.
  • Uh-oh… We’re out of bacon!

That last one is particularly bad. Bacon is almost a religion in this house.

So what’s your  list of “Uh-oh”‘s for the day?

I was inspired to use “Uh-oh” after reading Diane Weidenbenner’s “T” post about her rental car “uh-oh”. Check it out!
About L. Catharine Tayler

Mom, Wife, Writer, Catholic, Thinker, Reader, Amateur Gourmand, 'Phins Fan, Superwoman--not always in that order. Fueled by passion and too much caffeine. Lost my cape--it's buried somewhere under that mountain of laundry. Once I find it, look out world!

Discussion

11 thoughts on “U is for Uh-Oh

  1. There’s not a day that there isn’t a Uh-oh in this house. I’ve learned to smile and up my intake of coffee. Somehow, it seems to do wonders for me. =) Nice post.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog.
    From Diary of a Writer in Progress

    Posted by Georgina Morales | April 24, 2012, 11:45
  2. My uh-oh is that I’m in a funky mood in general today. And I’m usually a very happy person, dammit. I don’t know what to do with these feelings. Eat ice cream? Another Diet Coke? Reading your bit about bacon certainly put me on the right track to a big smile. So, thanks!

    Posted by Ophelia | April 24, 2012, 11:59
  3. Sweep up scrambled eggs? That’s what the dog is for…we’ve trained our dogs to respond to the command “Hoover” and they come running to see what treats are waiting for them…

    Nice post. I like to think of Uh-oh’s as a not-paying-attention tax, something to be paid as part of the business of being alive…

    Posted by maureen blaseckie | April 24, 2012, 12:14
  4. Not good, not good, but I Ilike Maureen’s reply, it can be my reply because I wish I had a dog to eat the dropped food.

    Posted by natalie | April 24, 2012, 12:27
  5. Haha. You asked the right question. My book Wind Over Troubled Waters will be published today. I just saw the cover and it’s awesome. I wrote the book, which is the first of the Higher Ground Series with Edith Parzefall. Wooppee! Double Dragon is the publisher. Oh, ho. It’s not there yet.

    http://francene-wordstitcher.blogspot.com

    Posted by Francene Stanley | April 24, 2012, 13:51
  6. I like that, a “pay-attention” tax!

    We used to have a furry hoover. I didn’t realize how much food the kids DIDN’T eat until she died. She sure kept the floor clean! LOL

    ~Lynn

    Posted by A Common Sea | April 24, 2012, 17:19
  7. My uh-oh usually involves milk – either we’re out of it or someone has spilled it. :))

    Posted by Melodie | April 24, 2012, 23:07
  8. Ha ha. I do know how hard it is to sweep up scrambled egg as it is pretty much my job. I also did U is for Uh-oh on the A-Z.

    Posted by Bibsey Mama (@BibseyMama) | April 26, 2012, 09:54

Talk to us!

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold…and she likes sugar

Lucid Dreams and Saturn Skies

The Life and Writing of Andrew Kincaid

Rev. Evan Dolive

"We love because God first loved us." -- 1 John 4:19 (CEB)

Interrupting the Silence

"Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable to you, O Lord." Psalm 19:14

MK is Stacked

The epitome of librarian boob puns.

le zoe musings

Love to Create. Hope to Inspire.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. https://www.facebook.com/BunnyandPorkBelly https://twitter.com/BunnyNPorkBelly bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

A Common Sea

"I feel we are all islands floating in a common sea"--Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Pie Eyed

Pies aren't square anymore

fatherhood in babylon

real life adventures of a first time father

(My Life is) Full of Grace

Love & Mercy given by God, not because I deserve it, but because He wants me to have it.

lick the fridge

inane (and sometimes insane) musings of a twin dad

The Cake Eccentric's Blog

Artistic Expression in the medium of sugar, frosting, fondant, and gumpaste

PRETTY INN PINK

...and a little touch of blue!

WriterzBlox

Resources for Writers

What Matters Most

A Mother's Devotional

musingsofanoldfart

Independent views from someone who offers some historical context

Gastronomical Three

"First we eat, then we do everything else." --M.F.K. Fisher

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

